Stuck in the Middle

Hi friends. I wasn’t planning on writing today but life happened and I feel the need to share. I haven’t blogged or written lately. I’m on summer break and very busy with 2 kids. Everyday is an adventure. The hubby is busy working away in our basement. He is trying to finish the bathroom so that we can have extra space once everyone goes back to school, work in September. Great right? Not so much when it comes to my family. They are mad at me for not pushing my hubby to show up to family BBQ’s this summer.  In his mind he’d rather spend 2-4 hours working on the house than “waste” it at a BBQ. How can I argue with that. He is doing this for his family right?

So I’m stuck in the middle having to explain to my family when hubby is not there and then deal with the “looks” of disappointment and annoyance of his absence.

After a long conversation with my sister in law, I broke down and cried and cried and cried. The pressure to please is too much. I know hubby isn’t perfect and yes he could have pushed himself to finish this project earlier but he is not wired like that. I wish my dad and brother would get it and stop judging.

Yes friends, that’s my slice of life for today. Hope yours is better.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. marc-aureled
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 21:21:31

    I feel your frustration in being caught in the middle… I wish I had some solid advice for you. You need to take care of yourself and communicate your needs and how you feel. You can’t control or change the people around you.

    Reply

  2. Raivenne
    Jul 29, 2014 @ 21:31:20

    Let them judge, is their judging helping get YOUR bathroom done? No? Are they offering to help? Then don’t you dare let them get you down for it. Your husband’s priorities are in the right place – he is doing what he needs to do on his schedule not theirs – there should never be a need to make excuses for that. Missing a BBQ here and there for one summer out of life isn’t the end of the world. Once that bathroom is done it will all be worth it. It will all be an unpleasant memory soon enough.

    Reply

  3. Andrea Payan (@payanar)
    Jul 30, 2014 @ 03:02:58

    That is such a hard situation to be in. It sounds like your husband is making a choice to be able to provide something that will make life better for you and your family for a long time to come. Your family should be happy that you and the kids are able to get to the BBQ and enjoy the time with you rather than judging and making you feel bad. I hope the rest of the summer goes well and you are able to enjoy your time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

