A funny thing about birthdays

A friend of mine recently celebrated a birthday and I decided to get her a small gift. I don’t normally do this with my friends. Not because I don’t want to but it also gets very costly to buy a gift for all friends. I call, maybe send a card, and sometimes even do lunch with them. It’s funny how our birthday celebrations have changed over the years. As kids we had these big parties with lots of family, friends (school, neighborhood, etc), a cake, games and of course lots of presents. Then at some point the parties stopped, the celebrations stopped and now we find ourselves celebrating only the big milestone birthdays.  Funny huh?  Well the reason I started to write this week’s blog was because of my friend.  We are not BFF’s, we work together and spend much of our day supporting and helping each other. We don’t talk on the weekend, our families don’t really know each other, they know of each other, but have yet to meet. Not that, that is a big deal but…So back to my story. It was her birthday and I noticed that she had a rough year (emotionally, physically, etc) You get the picture. I decided to get her a small gift, just to show her that I was thinking of her and I wanted her to smile! Well when I tell you how surprised and excited she was,that is an understatement. She squealed from her excitement. Yes squealed!!!!

Because of this, I decided that from now on, I am going to pick some friends at random every year and surprise them on their birthday. The happiness that my friend felt was enough for me to make this decision. I encourage you to join me on this year-long paying it forward campaign. Pick a person in your life at random and do something special.  I am even thinking of doing it anonymously. I don’t want anyone to feel obligated to get me a gift because I got them a gift (you know how that dance goes). Just something to let your friend know that they were thought of.

I will check in again in 1 year with you my readers and see how this went. I hope you can find it in your heart to do this. Let’s make someone’s slice of life a happy one!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jen b.
    Jun 10, 2014 @ 23:48:00

    I LOVE when the “little things” are treated as the biggest things in the world – which, in all reality, they really are, aren’t they??? Such a great post!

    Reply

  2. newtreemom
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 00:33:45

    So nice the way you noticed that your friend could use something a little special for her birthday this year, and then her reaction inspired you even more!

    My “next door neighbor” at school surprised me with a gift bag of little surprises to cheer me up recently, and it is hard to express just how much that thoughtfulness touched me. I will be looking for chances to pay it forward now, too.

    Reply

  3. Bernadette laganella
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 01:15:49

    What a good idea. Random acts of happiness. I’m in

    Reply

  4. blkdrama
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 01:34:10

    What a very cool idea! I think I’ll do the same thing. But I have to say, I celebrate my birthday every day, big or small. I don’t have the parties anymore though.

    Reply

  5. writekimwrite
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 01:38:41

    What a great reminder. We are all encouraged by acts of kindness and thoughtfulness. What a gift to know you made a difference and made someone squeal with delight. So glad you shared and inspired today.

    Reply

  6. Dana Murphy
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 02:29:09

    How wonderful that your friend was so excited and appreciative of your small gesture! I love that her reaction inspired you to do more for others!

    I had a friend at work do something similar for me this year, and it was so nice. Sometimes, it’s the smallest things that really count.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

