Drill and Kill the Fun!

I never really knew the what the phrase “Drill and Kill” did to kids. Now as a mom of 2 I feel it first hand.
Yes, I am guilty of it. I taught 3-5 graders for many years and we drilled and killed before our state tests. Kids whined, they looked bored and they were not interested. I knew it was wrong, but I was responsible for these young children. They needed to “pass the test”.
Well all that changed when I enrolled my daughters in dance school this year. As with other dance schools,there is a dance recital coming up. Yes, very exciting. Costumes, make-up, hair, etc. The problem? My daughters dread going to dance class now. They H-A-T-E it. Yup! They have that same look that my students had before the test. I know they are going to perform to show all that they have learned. But what exactly did they learn?

Makes you think twice right?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia V. Davis
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 00:05:11

    It sure does. What ever joy to learning something for the sheer joy and accomplishment of it? (Sigh)

    Reply

    • eirinimeli0504
      Jun 04, 2014 @ 00:14:16

      There has to be time set aside each day for just pure enjoyment! That will be a goal I have to work on putting into place both in my personal and professional life!

      Reply

  2. arjeha
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 00:12:53

    I think we are all guilty of the “drill and kill”. How unfortunate for us as well as our students.

    Reply

  3. scanloe
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 01:31:42

    It is interesting to see how our lessons come back to us! We are all guilty of such in our classrooms!

    Reply

  4. bbutler627
    Jun 04, 2014 @ 01:31:51

    Right indeed. I hate the skill and drill and thinking of the frustration level my son’s teachers will one day feel with them. Good point.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

