Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is bittersweet for most of us. I lost my mom to cancer 6 years ago, a week before my first Mother’s Day. The sadness of her death, the happiness of having a new born masked the feelings of that day 6 years ago. Now I have 2 beautiful happy, healthy girls that drive me crazy everyday. But I would not change that for the world. My husband, like most men is limited in his capacity to think ahead and plan for special occasions. With that said, a little effort and planning would have been nice. Instead it made the day even more sad. I find peace and happiness through the other 364 days of the year and make special memories with everyday moments.  I hope that your Mother’s Day was wonderful and sweet and just the way you wanted it to be. For the rest of us, we will bury the memory of a saddened Mother’s Day and hope that next year will be better.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elsie
    May 13, 2014 @ 15:23:41

    Welcome to Slice of Life! Sometimes the stores, commercials, and card companies create an unreal expectation for certain holidays which lead to disappointments. I had to establish early that my Mother’s Day was a day I did not cook at all. Once the rules were laid out, we had great Mother’s Days. You will find your way to make it a day to enjoy.

    Reply

    • eirinimeli0504
      May 13, 2014 @ 18:42:01

      Thank you for taking the time to read my entry. I also thank you for your advice. It really means a lot and I will keep in mind for future holidays and celebrations to come.

      Reply

  2. Linda Baie
    May 13, 2014 @ 16:23:44

    Welcome to the Slicing community. I agree with Elsie, that expectations found on tv ads or other times can make a day feel as if you aren’t celebrated. I hope you enjoy your children every day, and know that’s what mothering is all about, any day of the year!

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    May 13, 2014 @ 18:17:50

    I was going to say the same as Linda and Elsie! Such a day for mixed emotions. Welcome to the Slice of Life community!

    Reply

  4. eirinimeli0504
    May 13, 2014 @ 18:45:23

    Hi Linda! Thank you for taking the time to stop by my blog and reading my very first entry. I do enjoy my children each and everyday, as crazy as it may get. Yes you are correct, that’s what mothering is about. Sometimes we get caught up with the commercialization and forget what exactly we are celebrating.

    Reply

  5. jhaworthoy
    May 13, 2014 @ 20:01:27

    Welcome to the Slice of Life. I agree with everyone else…and will at that all of the pictures posted on social media of gifts that people get for special occasions can sometimes be a bit much. Also, the fact that you lost your mother so close to the birth of your first daughter may bring a bit of sadness to you. My sister married a wonderful man whose family had not celebrated birthdays and other special days…or at least not that much. She had to have a frank talk with him, telling him her expectations…nothing big…but recognition. He was clueless…and from then on remembered special days…again…nothing elaborate. Hope to see more posts from you on the Slice. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

    Reply

    • eirinimeli0504
      May 14, 2014 @ 12:20:40

      Thank you so much Jackie for taking the time to read my post and for your honest advice. I did have a conversation with my hubby after I calmed down and was not so emotional and he even admitted that he did not put thought into Mother’s Day this year. I saw the look on his face and realized he was truly sorry. Looking forward to sharing with the Slicing Community!
      Eirini

      Reply

  6. K. Renae P.
    May 13, 2014 @ 20:13:49

    Thank you for posting such an honest moment.

    Reply

    • eirinimeli0504
      May 14, 2014 @ 12:21:50

      Most of us try to hide the imperfections in our lives and put on a show. But it is necessary to be honest and embrace those imperfect days, moments, etc. to keep things real and in perspective.

      Reply

  7. Judy C.
    May 13, 2014 @ 23:32:47

    Welcome to SOL – we’re so glad that you are writing and sharing. Mother’s Day can be bittersweet, but the memories we have can never be taken away from us. My Mother passed over 20 years ago and I still miss her, but I know that she is watching over me and my family every day. Share your memories with your daughters as they get older so they know how much she means to you.

    Reply

  8. Leigh Anne
    May 14, 2014 @ 00:05:25

    Welcome to the slicing community – I think you will love this place! I hope that someday you feel celebrated on Mother’s Day and I am sorry that it holds such sadness for you. I hope to see you next Tuesday.

    Reply

    • eirinimeli0504
      May 14, 2014 @ 12:39:16

      Hi Leigh Anne – I am so glad to have joined the slicing community. I already feel the love from everyone. I look forward to next Tuesday as well! Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
      Eirini

      Reply

  9. Kate Schwarz
    May 14, 2014 @ 01:00:57

    Gotta say: I hear you, and low-appreciation-y mother’s days are hard to stomach. While I appreciate you looking at the bright side and trying to focus on the positive, perhaps writing a (private?) slice about how angry you are and WHY might be helpful! then, when you’ve calmed down, take the advice of those before me and be honest about what you expect, why Mother’s Day is important to you/what it symbolizes. Take it into your own hands. I try to remember that my (VERY IMPERFECT) husband wasn’t born and raised to know what this Kate wants and needs and likes. I have to help him out. Not romantic, but very mature. Good news: your husband has 363 days to improve on this last Mother’s Day. 🙂

    Welcome to the SOL community!

    Reply

    • eirinimeli0504
      May 14, 2014 @ 12:41:16

      Hi Kate – first off I want to thank you for stopping by and reading my first post ever! I appreciate the advice. You’re right we need to let our loved ones know what we expect or else we will end up sad and miserable. Looking forward to next week. 🙂
      Eirini

      Reply

  10. thebeachpapers
    May 14, 2014 @ 01:01:26

    I know it can be a sad day. My mum went to heaven 12 years ago and it does get a little easier but never the same. As your children grow they fill the empty space a little and become the friend and companion you mother once was. I miss my mum every day, I feel your pain.

    Reply

  11. Amelia@wakeupandwrite
    May 14, 2014 @ 04:45:49

    Soon your girls will take over the responsibility of Mother’s Day – and help your hubby get into gear. My kids are grown and my poor husband is back to figuring it out on his own. He tells me I’m not his mother…. but he seems to always find some chocolate for me.

    Reply

    • eirinimeli0504
      May 14, 2014 @ 12:44:20

      Hi Amelia – Oh no, poor hubby. I am hopeful and looking forward to the future where my girls have more of a voice and can plan with daddy. It’s so funny how our children take over and make things better.
      Chocolate is always good!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

